Proposal for a new SN committee

Hi! I’d like to propose a Committee for Audits and Testing, meant to augment the development committee with people who’ve demonstrated skills at redteaming code/protocols to audit and set testing standards for secret contracts so we avoid/minimize events like the past few days.

I’ll start with my relevant creds:

1. I’ve been redteaming crypto work semi-informally for the past 3 years, the way I first got in touch with the SN team was redteaming the MPC protocol, I’ve got credits for finding holes in other protocols too (in particular some safetrace holes, some Novid holes, I’ve got a citation in the apple/google repos for it, etc).
  2. I’ve been running engineering teams for 3 years, during which time much of my work was CRing/setting testing and devops standards for the teams I was on.

I’d want others to join me in this (I’ve got time to run things like 5-10 hrs a week at most, not enough time to be FTE), but I’m mainly putting this out there to gauge interest

11 Likes

My initial thoughts are

1. It would be great if developers have access to a team of competent reviewers. As the tech is new and pioneers the space, it is hard to find reviewers (even among audit firms).

2. If the pool were to pay for this, the pool is going to be covering costs that normally come as an expense for developers. Although we could argue that this may make the development environment more attractive, I wonder if the majority of the network believes these costs should be covered by the pool instead of the developers themselves.

I think I would prefer to see a team of recognized reviewers that can be hired by developers to do reviewing, instead of funding the team from the community pool.

I’m very open to discussion on this. They are, as described, my initial thoughts.

1 Like