Permissioned queries

I’m still learning about smpc - I know it enables non-revealing queries which allow a requester to know information about data without knowing the data itself (i.e. - “is this person over 21?”), but does it also enable permissioned queries? (i.e. - only someone I whitelist is even allowed to ask the question “is this person over 21” and nobody else has the faintest clue) - I guess it would be achieved by appending a Salt to my identifier within the secret contract itself? That way the only people who can ask if I’m over 21 are people who have the Salt, but that requires an off-chain datastore. So are there more sophisticated implementations possible via SMPC where a user can grant and revoke permissioned queries? Would this require an off-chain data store for the user to grant/revoke access credentials? Traditional blockchain enables free queries from anyone, so I guess I’m asking: does enigma simply change the nature of these queries to only answer questions about the data, or does it also enable permissioned queries of the data itself?

1 Like

I would imagine that a basic implementation would look like something as follows: user whitelists certain addresses for certain types of queries in a public contract; whenever someone sends a signed request to the secret contract, part of the computation that occurs is a check against the public whitelist contract; if the requester isn’t on the list (based on the signature), the computation ends, and the underlying result is not provided to the requester.